R. Randall Padfield

R. Randall Padfield
Chief Operating Officer, AIN Publications

Randy Padfield has been a full-time editor with AIN Publications since 1993, became editor-in-chief in November 1998 and was made chief operating officer in 2012. Based at AIN’s editorial offices in Midland Park, N.J., he has overall responsibility for the day-to-day operations of the company, including the production of the Aviation International News monthly and Business Jet Traveler bimonthly magazines, the company's daily, on-site editions at conventions and air shows and its websites and electronic newslettters.

Before working for AIN, Padfield published articles in several other aviation publications while working full-time as a pilot. He is also the author of four books on aviation: Flying in Adverse ConditionsCross-Country Flying—3rd EditionLearning to Fly Helicopters, and To Fly Like a Bird (a biography of helicopter pioneer Joe Mashman, published by the American Helicopter Society). In 1998 he received the NBAA's Gold Wing Award for reporting excellence.

Rated as an airline transport pilot in helicopters and airplanes, Padfield trained and flew missions as a U.S. Air Force HH-3E rescue pilot, flew Sikorsky S-61s, Bell 212s and Aerospatiale AS 332Ls for Helikopter Service of Norway for 12 years and was a pilot with Trump Air of New Jersey. He received his bachelor of science degree in engineering management from the United States Air Force Academy in 1971 and his master of science degree in the same discipline from UCLA in 1972.

Padfield and his wife of more than 40 years have three adult children and five grandchildren.

 

Quote/Unquote

“"Many years ago, our company founder, Al Conklin, sold a new twin-engine business aircraft to a very successful entrepreneur. He had established a bit of a rapport with the individual and, after the sale, asked him straight out, 'How can you justify the cost of this airplane?' His reply? 'What is the cost of a divorce?'"–David Wyndham, president, Conklin & de Decker”

-David Wyndham

Wilson S. Leach
Managing Director
wleach@ainonline.com

John F. McCarthy, Jr.
Executive Vice President
jmccarthy@ainonline.com

Anthony T. Romano
Publisher - North America: East/International
aromano@ainonline.com

Melissa Murphy
Advertising Sales - North America: Midwest
830) 608-9888
mmurphy@ainonline.com

Nancy O'Brien
Advertising Sales - North America: West
(530) 241-3534
nobrien@ainonline.com

Victoria Tod
Advertising Sales - North America: Great Lakes/UK
vtod@ainonline.com

Daniel Solnica
Advertising Sales - International: Paris
+33-1-42-46-95-71
dsolnica@ainonline.com

Philip Scarano
Advertising Sales - North America:Southeast
pscarano@ainonline.com

Tom Hurley
Production/Manufacturing Manager
thurley@ainonline.com

Susan Amisson
Sales/Production Administrator
samisson@ainonline.com

Jeff Hartford
Audience Development Manager
jhartford@ainonline.com

Patty Hayes
Advertising/Sales Secretarial Staff
phayes@ainonline.com

Cindy Nesline
Advertising/Sales Secretarial Staff
cnesline@ainonline.com